Numerical solution of Non-equilibrium Hypersonic Flows of Diatomic Gases and Gas Mixtures Using the Generalized Boltzmann Equation

Date15 October, 2018
VenueRoom 326, Building 5, Yuquan Campus
SpeakerProf. Ramesh K. Agarwal
AbstractHypersonic flows about space vehicles produce flow fields in thermodynamic non-equilibrium where local Knudsen numbers may lie in all the three regimes — continuum, transition and rarefied. Flows in continuum regime can be modeled accurately by the Navier-Stokes (NS) equations; however the flows in transition and rarefied regimes require a kinetic approach such as the Direct Simulation Monte Carlo (DSMC) method or the solution of the Boltzmann equation. This talk will describe the development of a computational methodology and current state of the art for computing hypersonic non-equilibrium shock wave flows of diatomic gases using the Generalized Boltzmann Equation (GBE) at Knudsen numbers in transitional and rarefied flow regimes.

Professor Ramesh K. Agarwal is the William Palm Professor of Engineering in the department of Mechanical Engineering and Masterials Science at Washinton University in St. Louis. From 1994 to 2001, he was the Sam Bloomfield Distinguished Professor and Executive Director of the National Institute for Aviation Research at Wichita State University in Kansas. From 1978 to 1994, he was the Program Director and McDonnel Douglas Fellow at McDonnel Douglas Research Laboratoies in St. Louis. Dr. Agarwal received Ph.D in Aeronautical Sciences from Stanford University in 1975, M.S. in Aeronautical Engineering from the University of Minnesota in 1969 and B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technolgoy, Kharagpur, India in 1968. Over a period of 40 years, Professor Agarwal has worked in various areas of Computational Science and Engineering — Computationa Fluid Dynamics (CFD), Computational Acoustics and Electromagnetics, and Multidisciplinary Design and Optimization. He is the author and coauthor of over 600 publications. He has given many plenary, keynote and invited lectures at various national and international conferences worldwide in over fifty countries.

He is a Fellow of 22 professional societies including American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautis (AIAA), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS), American Physical Society (APS) and American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). He has received many prestigious honors and national/international awards from various professional societies and organizations for his research contributions including the AIAA Reeds Aeronautics Award, SAE Medal of Honor, ASME Honorary Membership and Honorary Fellowship from Royal Aeronautical Society.